Los Angeles Saturday


Today was a classic Saturday.

We got mimosa brunch in West Hollywood then discovered the hidden gem of the Roosevelt Hotel’s pool – accessible, luxurious, food-ie, absolutely beautiful. We just need to get their earlier next time.

Then headed to a random sushi restaurant in West LA which featured a track around the entire (small) place on which the sushi chefs placed the rolls they had just prepared so you can see before you pluck.

It wasn’t that good.

I like my sushi fish to taste really fresh, light and almost refreshing. My favorite place is Sugarfish, where the pieces are light, simple and easy. Here, the sushi rice was a little too sweet and each roll was very dense.

Tomorrow is farmers market! Can’t wait.

This week I want to cook a lot of fresh vegetables – zucchini, squashes, sweet potatoes, kale, brussel sprouts, purple cauliflower etc. I am going to try out the Beverly Hills market first, hopefully its a hit.

I live with my best friend Becky and we have a pretty ideal set-up. We eat the same things and cook dinner for just the two of us every weeknight. Every Sunday we go to the Trader Joe’s and get staples – greek yogurt, Kashi GoLean, cranberries, almonds/sunflower seeds, frozen edamame, frozen shrimp, frozen blueberries, chia seeds/flax seeds, low-carb tortillas, kale, spinach, mixed greens, mushrooms, apples, cherry tomatoes, sweet potatoes (we eat these every night), canned tuna, baby carrots, sugar snap peas, steamed lentils/beets, lemons and limes.

Then we go to Whole Foods our favorite place and buy whatever vegetable is on sale (usually brussels, but we have gotten purple cauliflower, white asparagus, random mushrooms, peppers etc.) and some frozen salmon and tilapia fillets. Frozen comes out to about $5/night which isn’t bad at all. Usually we eat a piece of fish, some sort of carb (usually sweet potato fries) and sautéed or steamed veggies. Our dinners are repetitive but delicious.

I have a lot of opinions on what I buy at the grocery store and exactly why. I did all the grocery shopping for my family of 7 as soon as I had my license so know all the tricks of the grocery store – what’s a good deal, where I can find the sale and how to pick good produce (for the most part). Its amazing the number of college students (and graduates) who have NO idea how to move through a grocery store and that an avocado for $2.50 is a waste of money. Makes me laugh.

Off to sleep.

Keep it real

Leave a Reply

