Green Salads – make them fresh!!!

Yesterday I found this bracelet my sister gave me for Christmas four years ago. She made one for each of the five sisters, and I think I’m the only one that hasn’t lost it. Anjali mudra is a gesture of gratitude. It’s simple and beautiful!

20130227-121953.jpg

My namaste mat also came! My Instagram got like fifteen likes 🙂

20130227-122031.jpg

So yesterday my friend sent me a picture of the nutrition facts of her trader joes salad. They weren’t bad. Dressing definitely added alot of sodium and sugar, but was still only 90 calories (I say only because usually processed dressings are in the upwards of 200).

20130227-122316.jpg

The scariest thing was the length of the ingredients list. There were a bunch of things that who knows what they are, yet the salad is still quantitatively “okay”. Whole foods in their most pure form will keep you fuller for so much longer. For many people, the time it takes to prepare your own salad from scratch just isn’t there.
On Mondays I like to prepare for a busy week if I know it’s gonna be hectic by chopping up salad stuff like peppers, onions and tomatoes because I know these can be the most time intensive. Or I just do it the night before. Then in the morning, I massage kale with about a tablespoon of olive oil and throw on the veggies. I bring balsamic vinegar in a little bag and am ready to go.
I eat the same salad almost every weekday:
About two cups of kale
One tablespoon olive oil massaged in
1/4 bell pepper
Onion
Handful of halved cherry tomatoes
Balsamic vinegar
Cracked pepper

Other random additions depending on how I feel:
Sunflower seeds
Craisins
A can of no salt tuna
Arugula
Nutritional yeast
Edamame
Avocado
Kalamata olives!!!

These come in anywhere from 195 calories to 400 and taste so much better than ones you need to buy in plastic.

They are delicious and wholesome. Keep me full for at least 3 or 4 hours!!!

20130227-123316.jpg

Leave a Reply

